Zen Nihon Kendo Renmei Iaido and Zen Nihon Kendo Renmei Jodo

Zen Nihon Kendo Renmei Iaido and Zen Nihon Kendo Renmei Jodo are both taught at Bujutsu Martial Arts Centre. Both are legitimate arts that originate from Japan and are recognised internationally.

Jodo, the way of the stick is a staff art.

Iaido is a pattern based sword art.

Zen Nihon Kendo Renmei Iaido and Zen Nihon Kendo Renmei Jodo Dan grades are registered in Tokyo, Japan and are internationally recognised grades.

The Zen Nihon Kendo Renmei is the official international organization which exercises general control over and representing Kendo, Iaido and Jodo. It was established by the Japanese government after World War II.

The Australian Kendo Renmei and the NSW Kendo Association are the Australian state and national bodies affiliated with the Zen Nihon Kendo Renmei through the International Kendo Federation.

Zen Nihon Kendo Renmei Jodo Kihon – Solo Practice – Tandoku Dosa

Ippon me – Honte Uchi – Forward Hand Strike

Nihon me – Gyakute Uchi – Reverse Hand Strike

Sanbon me – Hikiotoshi Uchi – Sliding Knock Down

Yonhon me – Kaeshi Zuki – Thrust to Solar Plexus

Gohon me – Gyakute Tsuki – Overhead Thrust Solar Plexus

Roppon me – Maki Otoshi – Sweeping Down

Nanahon me – Kuri Tsuke – Pinning and Trapping

Happon me – Kuri Hanashi – Throwing Away

Kyuhon me – Tai Atari – Body Check

Juppon me –  Tsuki Hazushi Uchi – Thrust Block and Strike

Ju ippon me – Dou Barai uchi – Block to Side of Body and Strike

Ju nihon me – Tai Hazushi Uchi – Retreat and Strike Forwards

Zen Nihon Kendo Renmei Jodo Kata

Ippon me – Tsuki Zue

Nihon me – Suigetsu

Sanbon me – Hissage

Yohnon me – Shamen

Gohon me – Sakan

Roppon me – Monomi

Nanahon me – Kasumi

Happon me – Tachi Otoshi

Kyuhon me – Rai Uchi

Juppon me – Seigan

Ju ippon me – Midare Dome

Ju nihon me – Ran Ai

Zen Nihon Kendo Renmei Iaido Kata

Ippon me – Mae – Front

Nihon me – Ushiro – Rear

Sanbon me – Ukenagashi – Receive, Parry and Cut

Yonhon me – Tsuka Ate – Striking With the Hilt

Gohon me – Kesagiri – Diagonal Cut

Roppon me – Morotezuki – Two Handed Thrust

Nanahon me – Sanpogiri – Three Direction Cutting

Happon me – Ganmen Ate – Hit to the Face

Kyuhon me – Soetezuki – Joined Hand Thrust

Juppon me – Shihogiri – Four Direction Cutting

Ju Ippon me – Sougiri – Complete Cuts

Ju Nihon me – Nukiuchi – Sudden Draw

Tamiya Ryu Iai

Tamiya Ryu was founded by Tamiya Heibei Shigemasa during the Tempo Era (1573 – 1591).

Tamiya Ryu Iai is an ancient martial art that has been practised for centuries in Japan and is taught and practised at Bujutsu Martial Arts.

The first set of 11 Tamiya kata are as follows:

Omote No Make: The Surface (shoden)

  1. Inazuma (Lightning)
  2. Oshinuki (Pin down and draw)
  3. Yokemi (Body protection)
  4. Mawarikakari (Turn and attack)
  5. Mune no katana (Chest sword)
  6. Tsukahazushi (Removing from the hilt)
  7. Tsukitome (Stopping the truts)
  8. Shiranami (White capped waves)
  9. Nigemi (Body escape)
  10. Oitachi (Drive away)
  11. Chojo (The summit)